MLB All-Star Game 2019: Time, TV, lineups, streaming info

The Major League Baseball All-Star Game returns to Cleveland for the sixth time and for the first since 1997.

The American League has dominated the Midsummer Classic in recent years, winning the last six contests and 18 out of the last 22 since 1997. 

And for the first time, if the game goes to extra innings, the inning will begin with a runner on second base each time.

Justin Verlander of the Houston Astros and Hyun-jin Ryu of the Los Angeles Dodgers were named the starters for the American and National League, respectively. The rosters are infused with young talent and first-timers. In fact, the NL's starting lineup is the youngest in All-Star Game history, led by 21-year-old Braves outfielder Ronald Acuña Jr.

Verlander, who is making his second career All-Star Game start, joked that he “halfway blames” former teammate Prince Fielder for his struggles in 2012. Then with the Tigers, Fielder urged him to hit 100 mph on the radar gun, only to his chagrin.

“I don’t quite throw 100 anymore. Maybe I’ll try (Tuesday), I don’t know,” Verlander said with a smile. “But the goal is to get guys out. That’s it.”

Progressive Field during pregame introductions. (Photo: Angie Walton, USA TODAY Sports)

What to know 

Time/TV: 8 p.m. ET, Fox

Fun fact: There are 36 first-time All-Stars: John Means (Orioles), Carlos Santana (Indians), Lucas Giolito (White Sox), James McCann (White Sox), Shane Greene (Tigers), Ryan Pressly (Astros), Whit Merrifield (Royals), Tommy La Stella (Angels), Jake Odorizzi (Twins), Jorge Polanco (Twins), Matt Chapman (A's), Daniel Vogelbach (Mariners), Austin Meadows (Rays), Joey Gallo (Rangers), Mike Minor (Rangers), Marcus Stroman (Blue Jays), Brandon Lowe (Rays), Shane Bieber (Indians), Liam Hendriks (A's), Max Muncy (Dodgers), Brandon Woodruff (Brewers), Ronad Acuna Jr. (Braves), Mike Soroka (Braves), Ketel Marte (Diamondbacks), Luis Castillo (Reds), David Dahl (Rockies), Walker Buehler (Dodgers), Hyun-Jin Ryu (Dodgers), Sandy Alcantara (Marlins), Pete Alonso (Mets), Jeff McNeil (Mets), Josh Bell (Pirates), Kirby Yates (Padres), Will Smith (Giants), Paul DeJong (Cardinals) and Anthony Rendon (Nationals).

Where: Progressive Field in Cleveland

Live Stream: Hulu, Sling

Here are the full lineups

American League

Starting pitcher: Justin Verlander, Astros

National League

Starting pitcher: Hyun-jin Ryu, Dodgers

Source: Read Full Article