PDC World Darts Championship draw made as Van Gerwen and Wright learn their fate

The first round draw for the 2021 PDC World Darts Championship has been made, with the 32 seeded players coming in at round two to face the winners.

Defending champion Peter Wright will be taking on either Steve West or Amit Gilitwala while world number one Michael van Gerwen will face either Ryan Murray or Lourence Ilagan.

There are some tasty first round ties, including Luke Humphries taking on veteran thrower Paul Lim, Dirk van Duijvenbode playing world youth champion Bradley Brooks and fan favourite Steve Beaton facing Diogo Portela.

Lisa Ashton is back at Alexandra Palace to play Adam Hunt, while Deta Hedman is there for the first time and faces Andy Boulton.

The tournament gets underway on 15 December, with the final on 3 January.

2021 PDC World Darts Championship draw

Michael van Gerwen vs Ryan Murray/Lourence Ilagan
Ricky Evans vs Mickey Mansell/Haupai Puha
Joe Cullen vs Wayne Jones/Ciaran Teehan
Jonny Clayton vs John Henderson/Marko Kantele
Dave Chisnall vs Keegan Brown/Ryan Meikle
Danny Noppert vs Martijn Kleermaker/Cameron Carolissen
Dimitri van den Bergh vs Luke Humphries/Paul Lim
Jermaine Wattimena vs Derk Telnekes/Nick Kenny
Michael Smith vs Jason Lowe/Dimitri Gorbunov
Devon Petersen vs Steve Lennon/Daniel Larsson
Gary Anderson vs Madars Razma/Toru Suzuki
Mensur Suljovic vs Maik Kuivenhoven/Matthew Edgar
Rob Cross vs Dirk van Duijvenbode/Bradley Brooks
Jamie Hughes vs Adam Hunt/Lisa Ashton
Glen Durrant vs Steve Beaton/Diogo Portela
Adrian Lewis vs Damon Heta/Danny Baggish
Peter Wright vs Steve West/Amit Gilitwala
Gabriel Clemens vs Andy Hamilton/Nico Kurz
Krzysztof Ratajski vs Ryan Joyce/Karel Sedlacek
Simon Whitlock vs Darius Labanauskas/Chengan Liu
James Wade vs Callan Rydz/James Bailey
Stephen Bunting vs Andy Boulton/Deta Hedman
Ian White vs Kim Huybrechts/Di Zhuang
Jeffrey de Zwaan vs Ryan Searle/Danny Lauby
Gerwyn Price vs Luke Woodhouse/Jamie Lewis
Brendan Dolan vs Mike de Decker/Edward Foulkes
Jose de Sousa vs Ross Smith/David Evans
Mervyn King vs Max Hopp/Gordon Mathers
Nathan Aspinall vs Scott Waites/Matt Campbell
Vincent van der Voort vs Ron Meulenkamp/Boris Krcmar
Daryl Gurney vs Willie O’Connor/Niels Zonneveld
Chris Dobey vs Jeff Smith/Keane Barry

Fans will return to a darts event for the first time since March, with 1,000 fans able to attend each session, under strict social distancing rules.

PDC World Darts Championship odds

Michael van Gerwen – 5/2
Gerwyn Price – 5/1
Peter Wright – 11/2
Jose de Sousa – 14/1
Michael Smith – 14/1
Dimitri Van den Bergh – 16/1

Odds courtesy of Ladbrokes

Follow Metro Sport across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Source: Read Full Article