Road to the 2019 College World Series: NCAA baseball tournament bracket, scores, schedule

The bracket has been set and the NCAA baseball tournament is ready to get underway.

Much like the NCAA basketball tournament, the field consists of 64 schools, which will be whittled down to 16 super regional teams and then eight College World Series competitors, which takes place in Omaha, Neb. Each of the top 16 teams were seeded by the selection committee and will host a regional of four teams each. The top eight seeds are in line to host a super regional, granted they win their regional first.

The winners of each regional will advance to the super regionals for a best-of-three series at the home field of the higher seed of each matchup (June 7-10). The eight winners of the super regionals will then move on to the College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha (June 15-26).

Full guide | Mock draft roundup | Who has the weakest farm system?

The 2019 NCAA Tournament field was announced on Monday, May 27, with UCLA (47-8) and Vanderbilt (49-10) given the top two seeds. Defending champion Oregon State (36-18-1) and runner-up Arkansas (41-17) were also among the 16 teams awarded No. 1 seeds.

Below are the top 16 seeds, along with the bracket and schedule for the 2019 NCAA baseball tournament, which begins Friday, May 31.

NCAA baseball tournament seeds, regional hosts

NCAA baseball tournament bracket: Regionals, schedule, results

Regionals will be played at these host sites in a double-elimination format from May 31-June 3. The winner of each regional will be matched up in a 1-16 format (No. 1 winner vs. No. 16 winner, No. 2 winner vs. No. 15 winner, etc.) in the super regionals.

Los Angeles Regional (No. 1 UCLA)

No. 1 UCLA (47-8, Pac-12 champion)
No. 2 Baylor (34-17, at-large)
No. 3 Loyola Marymount (32-23, West Coast champion)
No. 4 Omaha (31-22-1, Summit champion)

Corvallis Regional (No. 16 Oregon State)

No. 1 Oregon State (36-18-1, at-large)
No. 2 Creighton (38-11, Big East champion)
No. 3 Michigan (41-18, at-large)
No. 4 Cincinnati (30-29, AAC champion)

Lubbock Regional (No. 8 Texas Tech)

No. 1 Texas Tech (39-17, at-large)
No. 2 Dallas Baptist (41-18, at-large)
No. 3 Florida (33-24, at-large)
No. 4 Army (35-24, Patriot champion)

Oklahoma City Regional (No. 9 Oklahoma State)

No. 1 Oklahoma State (36-18, Big 12 champion)
No. 2 UConn (36-23, at-large)
No. 3 Nebraska (31-22, at-large)
No. 4 Harvard (27-14, Ivy champion)

Fayetteville Regional (No. 5 Arkansas)

No. 1 Arkansas (41-17, at-large)
No. 2 California (32-18, at-large)
No. 3 TCU (32-26, at-large)
No. 4 Central Connecticut State (30-21, Northeast champion)

Oxford Regional (No. 12 Mississippi)

No. 1 Ole Miss (37-25, at-large)
No. 2 Illinois (36-19, at-large)
No. 3 Clemson (34-24, at-large)
No. 4 Jacksonville State (37-21, Ohio Valley champion)

Athens Regional (No. 4 Georgia)

No. 1 Georgia (44-15, at-large)
No. 2 Florida Atlantic (40-19, at-large)
No. 3 Florida State (36-21, at-large)
No. 4 Mercer (35-27, Southern champion)

Baton Rouge Regional (No. 13 LSU)

No. 1 LSU (37-24, at-large)
No. 2 Arizona State (37-17, at-large)
No. 3 Southern Miss (38-19, Conference USA champion)
No. 4 Stony Brook 31-21 (America East champion)

Starkville Regional (No. 6 Mississippi State)

No. 1 Mississippi State (46-13, at-large)
No. 2 Miami (FL) (39-18, at-large)
No. 3 Central Michigan (46-12, MAC champion)
No. 4 Southern (32-22, SWAC champion)

Stanford Regional (No. 11 Stanford)

No. 1 Stanford (41-11, at-large)
No. 2 UC Santa Barbara (45-9, Big West champion)
No. 3 Fresno State (38-14-1, Mountain West champion)
No. 4 Sacramento State (39-23, WAC champion)

Atlanta Regional (No. 3 Georgia Tech)

No. 1 Georgia Tech (41-17, at-large)
No. 2 Auburn (33-25, at-large)
No. 3 Coastal Carolina (35-24-1, Sun Belt champion)
No. 4 Florida A&M (27-32, MEAC champion)

Chapel Hill Regional (No. 14 North Carolina)

No. 1 North Carolina (42-17, ACC champion)
No. 2 Tennessee (38-19, at-large)
No. 3 Liberty (42-19, Atlantic Sun champion)
No. 4 UNC Wilmington (32-29, Colonial champion)

Louisville Regional (No. 7 Louisville)

No. 1 Louisville (43-15, at-large)
No. 2 Indiana (36-21, at-large)
No. 3 Illinois State (34-24, at-large)
No. 4 Illinois-Chicago (29-21, Horizon champion)

Greenville Regional (No. 10 East Carolina)

No. 1 East Carolina (43-15, at-large)
No. 2 N.C. State (42-17, at-large)
No. 3 Campbell (35-19, Big South champion)
No. 4 Quinnipiac (29-27, MAAC champion)

Nashville Regional (No. 2 Vanderbilt)

No. 1 Vanderbilt (49-10, SEC champion)
No. 2 Indiana State (41-16, Missouri Valley champion)
No. 3 McNeese (35-24, Southland champion)
No. 4 Ohio State (35-25, Big Ten champion)

Morgantown Regional (No. 15 West Virginia)

No. 1 West Virginia (37-20, at-large)
No. 2 Texas A&M (37-21-1, at-large)
No. 3 Duke (31-25, at-large)
No. 4 Fordham (38-22, Atlantic-10 champion)

NCAA baseball tournament bracket: Super regionals, schedule, scores

Best-of-3 series; winners advance to College World Series.

This section will be updated with the super regionals matchups once regionals are complete.

College World Series schedule

After the super regionals (June 7-10), the College World Series will start June 15, with the best-of-three championship series beginning June 24. This section will be updated when the CWS field is set.

NCAA Tournament players to watch

When looking at impact players in the NCAA Tournament, the first guy that comes to mind is Oregon State catcher Adley Rutschman, the clear-cut favorite to go No. 1 overall in the MLB Draft. He hit .419 – the second straight year he has batted over .400 – to go along with 17 home runs and a .580 OBP for the Beavers this season.

Other top ten MLB Draft prospects who are competing in the NCAA Tournament include a pair of Pac-12 sluggers: Cal first baseman Andrew Vaughn (.387/.549/.728) and Arizona State outfielder Hunter Bishop (.347 AVG, 22 home runs). Vanderbilt outfielder J.J. Bleday (26 home runs, 1.219 OPS), Baylor catcher Shea Langeliers (.304/.372/.485) and TCU pitcher Nick Lodolo (2.48 ERA, 125Ks in 98 IP) are also hot draft prospects to keep an eye on.

16 of the 25 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists will be in the NCAA Tournament, a list that includes Rutschman, Vaughn, Bishop and Bleday. Mississippi State (OF Jake Mangum, P Ethan Small) and Texas A&M (Ps John Doxakis, Asa Lacy) are among the tournament teams with multiple semifinalists in action.

College World Series past champions

USC holds the record for most College World Series titles with 12. LSU (6), Texas (6) and Arizona State (5) are right behind the Trojans, although LSU’s 2009 title is the most recent of any of the four teams. The Longhorns have made 36 CWS appearances, more than any other school. Here are the results of the previous 10 College World Series.

Source: Read Full Article