Which teams have qualified for World Cup 2022? South Korea latest team to join England and Argentina in Qatar

ENGLAND qualified for the World Cup after hammering San Marino 10-0 to finish top of Group I.

The winners of each group advance to the Qatar World Cup, with the second-placed teams heading to the play-offs before fans can think about booking their tickets.

And that means Italy and Portugal are not yet certain of their spot in the Gulf next November after failing to win their groups.

But Lionel Messi will be there after Argentina's 0-0 draw with Brazil proved enough for a World Cup place as Chile were beaten by Ecuador.

Who has qualified for the World Cup 2022?

Three teams have so far qualified for the World Cup 2022.

  • Qatar (as hosts/ had taken part in UEFA Group A)
  • Germany (UEFA Group J winners)
  • Denmark (UEFA Group F winners)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Serbia (UEFA Group A winners)
  • Spain (UEFA Group B winners)
  • France (UEFA Group D winners)
  • Belgium (UEFA Group E winners)
  • Netherlands (UEFA Group G winners
  • Croatia (UEFA Group H winners)
  • Switzerland (UEFA Group C winners)
  • England (UEFA Group I winners)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Iran (AFC Group A top two)
  • South Korea (AFC Group A top two)

How do the play-offs work?

Joining the 10 second-placed teams in the play-offs are the two highest-ranked teams from the Nations League who have not already qualified or finished in a runners-up spot.

And the play-offs for this World Cup are tougher than ever before.

Rather than the traditional two-legged format, the 2022 World Cup campaign sees the 12 teams put into three paths of four teams, with each path consisting of two one-legged semi-finals and a final.

The unprecedented Qatar World Cup takes place from November 21 to December 18, 2022.

Most read in Football

    Source: Read Full Article