The British Soap Awards returns for the first time in three years – here are the categories YOU can vote in

THE British Soap Awards have been confirmed to return in June 2022.

Following a two-year delay due to the pandemic, the The British Soap Awards will be back this summer on ITV.

Hosted by Phillip Schofield, the live awards will be presented by an array of well-known faces from across the TV and showbiz world.

The awards will take place in London at The Hackney Empire and will honour the nation’s biggest and most-loved soap operas.

The five biggest soaps – Coronation Street, Doctors, EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks – will be battling it out to win recognition for their work over the past year. 

The returning award ceremony will celebrate a mammoth year in soap opera, looking back on twelve months of murder, mystery, make-ups, break ups, trials, tribulations and tears.

Read More on The Sun

Brooklyn and Nicola ride in £500k Jag as first official wedding pics emerge

Huge queues as eco-mobs ‘leave one in three garages in South’ out of fuel

This includes the return of villain Janine Butcher in EastEnders and Seb Franklin's brutal death in Coronation Street.

Meanwhile on Hollyoaks, Summer set out to destroy Brody for his role in her father's death, Meena Jutla was left a trail of murder and mayhem in Emmerdale and Rob's relationship with Karen was left hanging in the balance in Doctors.

There will be 14 awards voted for either by the public or a panel of expert judges.

The long list categories for the public voted awards will open next Tuesday 19th April at 10am.

Most read in Soaps


Emmerdale star Jessie Elland reveals glam makeover at charity event


Hollyoaks stars shocked as bosses film at a nudist resort in Mallorca


Emmerdale killer Meena Jutla will make one last horrifying confession before exit


EastEnders star Matt Lapinskas joins Hollyoaks as major new villain

Details on how to vote will be available on

The panel voted categories will be Villain Of The Year, Best Dramatic Performance, Best Comedy Performance, Best Young Performer, Scene Of The Year, Best On Screen Partnership, Best Newcomer, Best Storyline and Best Single Episode.

There will also be the Outstanding Achievement Award and The Tony Warren Award will be given out on the night.

An air date for the ceremony in June is to be announced.

    Source: Read Full Article