What bank holidays do Scotland and Northern Ireland have that England or Wales don’t?

BANK holidays were introduced as an act of parliament by Sir John Lubbock back in 1871.

However, each of the nations in the union has different dates of special significance to them. Here's how the Scottish and Northern Irish ones differ from the English and Welsh…

When are the English bank holidays?

There are eight of them in England and Wales, and during 2021 they are:

  • New Year's Day: January 1
  • Good Friday: April 2
  • Easter Monday: April 5
  • Early May bank holiday: May 3
  • Spring bank holiday: May 31
  • Summer bank holiday: Monday August 30
  • Christmas Day: Monday, December 27 (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day: Tuesday December 28 (substitute day)

What extra bank holidays does Scotland have?

There was an extra day off on January 4, 2021 to mark the extra importance Scottish people place on the New Year.

The summer bank holiday is also different and is on Monday August 2, 2021.

Then there is the national day, St Andrew’s Day, on Tuesday, November 30, 2021.

What extra bank holidays does Northern Ireland have?

If St Patrick’s Day falls on a weekday then it is marked on the day itself, which is on March 17.

If not it is on the Monday after the weekend.

On July 12 the Battle of the Battle of the Boyne/Orangemen's Day is marked with a day off.

What are bank holidays?

Technically bank holidays are when banks, government offices and most business are closed.

They are actually different to public holidays, although many people use the name interchangeably.

The days were set out in the Bank Holidays Act of 1871.

Christmas Day and Good Friday were considered days of rest and are deemed public holidays rather than bank holidays.



    Source: Read Full Article